Note to My Younger Self | 11 | 2017

“Maybe redemption has stories to tell
Maybe forgiveness is right where you fell
Where can you run to escape from yourself?
Where you gonna go?”

Can you be true just for once? Not for others, but for yourself. Tell yourself how you truly feel the first four months of the year; how you struggle to keep a smiling face, when in fact, all you have underneath is worry.

Here you go again, you are being pulled by the same reasons. You hated not being in control of your feelings. You hated it when all the things you are fond of doing is not giving you the same pleasure as before. You hated it when life pulls you down without you knowing the exact cause of it.

You needed to start over again. But what does it take to start over again? You are afraid. You are afraid your chosen path will never be fruitful. You are afraid of slipping away again. However, you needed to do this, you needed to restart. You needed to stop the cowardice and be courageous just for once. You needed to relearn to trust yourself. But most importantly, you needed to trust God wholeheartedly.

This year, you will be one year older. The past 10 years of your existence had taught you many life lessons. It taught you to be brave enough to face the battles ahead. It taught you to accept things as they are. It taught you to breathe and be still once in a while. It taught you to let go and let God. It taught you to find your purpose. It taught you how magnificent life is. It taught you not to dwell in the past. It taught you to keep moving forward. It taught you not to lose grip on who you truly are and who your God is. You are who you are because of the things you’ve learned and experienced.

Younger self, as of writing this, days will be better. Life will open different opportunities for you to take a step forward and brave the world. Weeks will get better. You will experience things most human experience. Months will get better, believe me. You will find out that life can be as amazing as the books you’ve read. And I hope in the remaining months of the year your spark will not die down again. Because life is amazing, it is!

To more mishaps, getting back up, learning and love!!! It will get better.


To read Sunday Series, Note to My Younger Self, click the following:

Note to My Younger Self | 01 | 2007 (Best Shot)

Note to My Younger Self | 02 | 2008 (Goodbyes)

Note to My Younger Self | 03 | 2009 (Everything’s Okay)

Note to My Younger Self | 04 | 2010 (Hard Times)

Note to My Younger Self | 05 | 2011 (Learning to Breathe)

Note to My Younger Self | 06 | 2012 (Endings & Beginnings)

Note to My Younger Self | 07 | 2013 (More)

Note to My Younger Self | 08 | 2014 (Slow Down)

Note to My Younger Self | 09 | 2015 (Set Apart)

Note to My Younger Self | 10 | 2016 (Defying Gravity)

Note to My Younger Self is a 12-week Sunday Series that aims to make sense of my past in order for me to move on to the present without extra baggage.



Photo Credit: magic4walls.com

 

One thought on “Note to My Younger Self | 11 | 2017

What do you think?

