Note to My Younger Self | 09 | 2015

“There are certain times in this life that you find yourself pursuing a course that you are not certain will prove to be fruitful. Then, all of a sudden, out of nowhere, miraculously you receive the smallest sign or indication that you’re on the right track.”

A year of excellence, you said. A year when you would be excellent in every aspect of  your life for the sole purpose of setting an example to nonbelievers, you said. Has this been the case?

Looking back to 2015, you started the year with high hopes, believing in the impossible, holding on to His promises. However, as months passed by, the typical-you were slipping away. Raised as a realist-pessimist, you were confronted by the fact that not everything as planned could go along your way. And that drifted you.

But then, the typical-you would only see the negative circumstances that gone your way, you wouldn’t realized immediately, the blessings God had showered you. He had given you opportunities to give, to share, to encourage and to go outside your comfort zone.

You thought you fell short on being excellent. But to tell you the truth, I am amazed of how far you’ve come as a person. What you did then, made you a better person now. Your heart grew and glowed.  It grew to a more emphatic and thoughtful heart. It glowed and it shows.

Younger self, I will tell you again, don’t be too hard on yourself. You are doing what you can to make the world a better one. Yes, life is a series of pulls back and forth but it doesn’t mean you need to be swallowed by your pessimistic view of the world and self.

Younger self, I am happy that your heart grows and you learn to accept the inevitable part of life, that even though you know this, you still chooses to see the beauty amidst the ugliness.

Younger self, continue to give, to share, to encourage and to go outside your comfort zone. You are excellent on those things, remember that.


To read Sunday Series, Note to My Younger Self, click the following:

Note to My Younger Self | 01 | 2007 (Best Shot)

Note to My Younger Self | 02 | 2008 (Goodbyes)

Note to My Younger Self | 03 | 2009 (Everything’s Okay)

Note to My Younger Self | 04 | 2010 (Hard Times)

Note to My Younger Self | 05 | 2011 (Learning to Breathe)

Note to My Younger Self | 06 | 2012 (Endings & Beginnings)

Note to My Younger Self | 07 | 2013 (More)

Note to My Younger Self | 08 | 2014 (Slow Down)

Note to My Younger Self is a 12-week Sunday Series that aims to make sense of my past in order for me to move on to the present without extra baggage.



Quote from the book: The Ultimate Gift by Jim Stovall

Photo: OddyseyOnline

 

3 thoughts on “Note to My Younger Self | 09 | 2015

What do you think?

