Book of the Month: Wonder by R.J. Palacio

20160814_193236

This season was such a not good season for reading. I have many valid reasons why I haven’t read that much. However, I think you all know my reasons, that never-ending “LIFE HAPPENS.” Luckily, I got the chance to read a light and heart-warming novel of R.J. Palacio. At first, I felt like not reading it… since the story line seems childish. But who am I fooling? I love children’s book. So for this month, I read Wonder by R.J. Palacio.

Wonder is about a boy named Auggie who has facial deformity (I think that word is such a light word for his illness) and how he brave the world full of judgmental and critical people.

I can’t say that Wonder has a great and complex story compared to other stories about illnesses, disorders and disabilities. But it brought me to the core, the heart of someone who is different which where other stories seems to falter. Its sincerity and realness are the main reasons why I loved it. And this light read is what I needed right now after a month of reading hiatus.

After reading the book, I came to realize many things. Wonder allows me to see the beauty of the world despite of its share of ugliness. A book that will let you see pass through the physical and let you see the soul, its beauty and its kindness. The kind of book that can touch one’s heart because of its rawness and Auggie’s somewhat innocent but the realest of heart.

And these quotable quotes really struck me while reading Wonder:

“If every person in this room made it a rule that wherever you are, whenever you can, you will try to act a little kinder than is necessary – the world really would be a better place. And if you do this, if you act just a little kinder than is necessary, someone else, somewhere, someday, may recognize in you, in every single one of you, the face of God.”

This world will be a nicer place indeed!

“MR. BROWNE’S SEPTEMBER PRECEPT:

WHEN GIVEN THE CHOICE BETWEEN BEING
RIGHT OR BEING KIND, CHOOSE KIND.”

Choose kindness!

“no, no, it’s not all random, if it really was all random, the universe would abandon us completely. and the universe doesn’t. it takes care of its most fragile creations in ways we can’t see. like with parents who adore you blindly. and a big sister who feels guilty for being human over you. and a little gravelly-voiced kid whose friends have left him over you. and even a pink-haired girl who carries your picture in her wallet. maybe it is a lottery, but the universe makes it all even out in the end. the universe takes care of all its birds.”

Nothing is an accident!

“It’s what you’ve done with your time, how you’ve chosen to spend your days, and whom you’ve touched this year. That, to me, is the greatest measure of success.”

You can change the world one person at a time.

 

I think that’s it! That’s August Book of the Month. Oh! This is such a coincidence… Auggie’s real name is August! 🙂


Yien 082516

4 thoughts on “Book of the Month: Wonder by R.J. Palacio

  1. I happen to always see this book everytime I enter a bookstore. And it always catches my attention. Was having a hard time deciding if I’ll buy it or not. But good thing I found a good review from you. Soooo… Should I buy a book or download a pdf?😅

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

