Book of the Month: The Trial of Apollo

To be honest, I have been too busy to read a book or even create a beautiful masterpiece or write a blog post. Curse you adulting and responsibilities. That’s why this month, embarrassing as it may sound, I’ve only read one book and that book is the first book of Rick Riordan’s The Trial of Apollo. So, I don’t have any choice but to give this book the crown for this blog’s Book of the Month feature.

26252859

Don’t get me wrong, this book is a nice read. I also rated it 4 stars on GoodReads. It is just that I am more of a feeler whenever I read book. If my heart didn’t melt or my mind isn’t boggled enough, I wouldn’t be as in love as much as I tried to be.

Book One made me laugh. I couldn’t stop laughing at Apollo’s narrative. It made me think if Apollo has any way related to Narcissus? I checked, but none. Anyways, this was such a great read. But I’ve made a big mistake… If you are familiar with Rick Riordan, you will know that he is the god of cliffhanger. My big mistake was starting this series knowing the next books are still in the works of Riordan.

Anyways, there are some few quotes that really are remarkable:

“Not all monsters were three-ton reptiles with poisonous breath. Many wore human faces.”

A very on point observation, Apollo! Yes!

“Nothing is more tragic than loving someone to the depths of your soul and knowing they cannot and will not ever love you back.”

Deep Apollo! Very deep!

“Things can turn out differently, Apollo. That’s the nice thing about being human. We only have one life, but we can choose what kind of story it’s going to be.”

And the bacon part… I love the bacon part.

Oh, gods—bacon! I promised myself that once I achieved immortality again, I would assemble the Nine Muses and together we would create an ode, a hymnal to the power of bacon, which would move the heavens to tears and cause rapture across the universe.

Bacon is good.

Yes, Apollo, BACON IS LIFE.

So what did I take home in reading this?

  1. You are never old enough to read a children’s book or a YA book.
  2. And yes – bacon! The unwavering love of bacon.
  3. Humans are way scarier and meaner than monsters.
  4. You have one life, don’t be foolish to ruin it.
  5. Mythology spin-off is the best!
  6. Humans are monsters too.

Julienne

What do you think?

