A Thousand Lives

I would like to live in a world wherein no books will be left alone, abandoned and orphaned. But I would also love to live in a world wherein there will be no illiterate children left.

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one.” – George R.R. Martin

My ultimate dream is to have a big library wherein people, especially children, can come to read books they cannot buy because of lack of finances. I am into education and reading. And giving people a chance to be educated is one of my many passions.

Then it was just like a dream come true through The Book Stop Project, they open a pop-up library at the heart of the very busy city, Makati. This movement of TBSP is to encourage reading and a passion for books and promotes the sharing of ideas through the redistribution of books. Everyone can exchange pre-loved books to the books available there. Also, everyone can borrow.

The pop-up library will be at Ayala Triangle Gardens, Makati City until May 7.


My first day

I didn’t take a picture that time because I want to cherish that moment of indulgence and cravings.

I thought I will never see anything that will interest me. But because of my “Book Sale” skills, I saw these books:

20160428_200906 (1)

I’ve been meaning to have a hard copy of “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.” I’ve read a pdf file of this, but owning a hard copy is the most precious moment of my life.

My Second Day

In exchange of the books I’ve taken home on my first day, I gave these precious books of mine:

20160428_194815 (1)

I tried to observe who would take these books and how fast they will spot these. In no 5 minutes time after I placed the books on the shelf, someone got Paulo Coelho’s Veronika Decides to Die. After a couple of minutes, it was Ang Perang di Bitin. Then afterwards, The Little Pink Book. The next one was the Living Beyond your Feelings. And the last I’ve observed was A Stolen Life. Then afterwards I left, with these books:

20160429_202700

Third Day:

Then this Tuesday, I returned. The first thing I did was to look for the books I left… and I haven’t seen any. Yes! At least now, those books will be read by another person.

There’s a lot of books yesterday compared to the previous days. And I’ve seen Elizabeth Goudge’s The Little White Horse. It looks good and it’s summary is good. So I took it.


I would like to take this opportunity to thank The Book Stop Project for indulging my booknerd cravings.

20160430_174342


 

11 thoughts on “A Thousand Lives

What do you think?

