The Year of Gratitude

“Gratitude defeats entitlement” – Anonymous

Yes, I am claiming that 2016 will be the year of gratitude. So why did I choose to name this The Year of Gratitude?

Entitlement lessen the glory of God. But gratitude magnifies the goodness and glory of God. Many times in my life, I’ve become too confident to my “so-called” faith. I thought I am entitled with everything. Entitled to achieve, entitled to dream, entitled to life. But in truth, I am not entitled to such things. I am not entitled to anything in this world. Because really, what is achievement when you do not magnify the glory of God? What is an achieved dream when you lessen the goodness of God? What is life apart from God?

No number of likes, no tons of comments, no retweets and no heart buttons can make me a better person. Only God can make me the person I need to be… being happy with every situation and every thing He is giving me, being contented with every millisecond of wasted well-thought plans, being thankful for the life He has given me.

Somebody says: “It is not happiness that leads to a sense of gratitude. It is always gratitude that leads to a sense of happiness. – Francis Kong

I don’t want to be defeated by self-entitlement. I want entitlement to be defeated by a heart of gratitude.

“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” – 1 Thessalonians 5:18 (NIV)


 

What do you think?

