Life without Facebook

What is it like to live a life without Facebook?

It has been 7 loyal years of entertainment, information and connection through Facebook. It kept me connected to my high school friends, my college friends and my relatives. But it hurts to say, I quit Facebook the day I realized how superficial to stay in a world wherein worth is equated to likes and comments. Mind you, I don’t hate Facebook, I don’t even hate the people in there. But what I am trying to say is I don’t like to be a superficial person, I don’t like to be the person who feels unworthy every time I look at my Facebook likes and comments. I’ve also found out that Facebook is one of the main stressors of my anxiety attacks.

Remember my blog post about filtering? I’m doing it right now. I want my life to be peaceful, anxiety attack free. I want to stay in the truth, to do right things, to see only lovely and admirable things.

I want real life friends. Not the ones who tag you on every funny pictures and then nothing. I want someone to laugh with when we reminisce the good old days. Not the ‘Haha’ comments. I want to see the real reaction when I say my opinion about politics or if they really understood what I am trying to say, not the one who only clicks the Like button. Actually, I miss the good old days, when friends were inside a donut shop and laugh about nonsense things.

I know by deactivating my Facebook account, I will lose followers here on my blog and maybe I will lose track of my ‘supposed’ friends. But yeah, I am doing this for my own sake and for the sake of my mental health. By the way, I am not deactivating my Twitter account and Tumblr account.

Today (as of writing) is my Day 1 without Facebook. I will let you know the progress.

“Meant To Live”

Fumbling his confidence
And wondering why the world has passed him by
Hoping that he’s bent for more than arguments
And failed attempts to fly, fly[Chorus]
We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
Somewhere we live inside
Somewhere we live inside
We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
Somewhere we live inside

Dreaming about Providence
And whether mice or men have second tries
Maybe we’ve been livin with our eyes half open
Maybe we’re bent and broken, broken

[Chorus]

We want more than this world’s got to offer
We want more than this world’s got to offer
We want more than the wars of our fathers
And everything inside screams for second life, yeah

We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
We were meant to live
We were meant to live


Yien 11.12.15


Picture credit to: www.949powerfm.com.au

11 thoughts on “Life without Facebook

  1. I recently started following you, and I’m so glad that I did. I’ve been falling in love with your blog more and more. Your posts are so raw and I can definitely pick up on your introspective characteristic. This post really hit home for me because I see myself being enslaved to social media more and more. And it’s been frustrating me a lot. Especially when I know the Lord calls me to not let anything else compete with Him.

    Lovely post. Please keep up the great work.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

