Spoiler Alert from the Future

What if you can read someone’s review of your future? Just like how a reader reviews a book. What if?

I have to share with you my disturbing habit when reading a book. Ok, I read book reviews before I read, while I read and after I read. Because I want to know how others perceive the book I’m reading.

So there is this one time, while reading a book, I felt the urge of looking it into Goodreads. And to my dismay, I aborted reading the book. Just so you know, the reviews were terrible. Then after 4 months later, I tried to read it again and I loved every single page of it. This led me into thinking, “why do people hate this so much?”

time

What I am trying to say is, knowing what will happen ahead of time would not be as favorable as we think it might be. Think of a friend who tell you the story of the movie you will be watching later. How you hate that one friend for spoiling your most awaited movie. Excitement is lost, vanished, gone. Same as our life. Imagine if we could have access to our future, we can watch it and know what lies ahead, good or bad. You think it is a good idea? The questions would be… would we still pursue excellence after learning what we will become? Would we still be hard-working? Would we still want to live this life knowing the future? I think that’s why God does not fully reveal to us our end purpose, because if He did, I think we will be too sluggish or too complacent in living this life.

The uncertainty of the future makes us who we are now. Let’s be thankful for the uncertainties, the unclear future for it sets us to be better, to do great, to hope for the future.

For others, the spoiler from the future would be a good idea. But as for me, I am holding on to what the Bible say about season and time:

There is a time for everything,
    and a season for every activity under the heavens:

a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

-Ecclesiastes 3: 1-8

There is a time for everything. Our future will be revealed in the right time, for the right time. I believe in right timing as I believe that God is the author of our lives. Only God knows when things will work out and when it will not. Only God holds our future. What we need to do now is to pursue God.


Photo credit: dev.rehoboth.org.uk

What do you think?

