One Kind of Being Unkind

Life has its own way of teaching us the lessons we need to learn. It may be by means of challenges or may be an unexpected situation, but most of the time life teaches us in the simplest way possible.


Last Tuesday, I was walking home, I decided to take a peek on National Bookstore’s Warehouse Sale (take a peek: meaning staying at least an hour to touch, smell and thoroughly examine books). I thought I would buy one book, I’ve tried to feel the books but nothing speaks “BUY ME!!!” persistently, so I decided to leave NBS without buying one (and that’s a first).

On my way out of the store, I realized that I am starving, really starving, I saw Wendy’s and immediately ordered my favorite Baconator with fries and drink. Then I left the mall.

I was again walking home when suddenly one little poor teenage boy run to me and ask for my drink. He was holding garlands of sampaguita on his left hand while his right was patting me on my shoulder. With all my might, I ignored him. Yet, he still insisted for the drink I was currently drinking then. I walk past him ignoring all his sentiments. He insistently ask for the drink until he had given up all hope for the drink. Then, he left my side.

I thought I would be safe that evening. However, right after he left me alone, I felt something was wrong… someone was rebuking me that moment. I walked but the guilt feeling was still boggling me. I tried to rationalize what I did. I said to myself, “Well, it’s okay, you are very hungry and thirsty and that’s the last money you have.” Still feeling guilty, I said, “It’s okay, these poor kids today are too demanding and they do not deserve my help, don’t they have parents to deal with their needs?” I also said to myself, “Jesus said do not let other stumble on your account.” But the truth was, the boy just wanted the drink I was drinking. I wanted to go back then and give them all I bought from Wendy’s, but I could feel my stomach rumbling, I said, “Next time!”

I tried to forget that scene in my head. But when I reached home, after I drunk the soft drink, I found myself not fully eating the burger I’ve bought. So, I quickly opened my Bible because I was feeling that someone was rebuking me for what I did that night, and read:

Those who give to the poor will lack nothing,

but those who close their eyes to them receive many curses.

– Proverbs 28:27 (NIV)

Okay, that hit it! I was rebuked to the highest level. And what’s more, I’ve read this:

Whoever remains stiff-necked after many rebukes

will suddenly be destroyed–without remedy.

– Proverbs 29:1 (NIV)

I guiltily laughed at myself. I call myself a Christian but I forgot that Christ went down to heal the broken and meet the poor. And I was like ignoring the situation where I could extend myself to the poor. Because of this, my eyes were opened. I would not let myself be a stiff-necked Christian. I do not need many rebukes.

I am sharing this to you because maybe you have been in the same situation or maybe you happen to be in the situation like that. Life would give us a situation wherein we will be perplexed or be boggled. But remember, by praying and reading the Bible, God will tell you what to do, what you should not do, and what you should change with your attitude.

Honestly, I am happy more than boggled that night after the rebuking. Because I felt God and I felt He is reminding me of the things I need to do and not do. I am having a hard time being generous, because all I have today is from a hard-earned money but he reminded me to be generous always, as in always, for that pleases Him more greatly.

Happy long weekend to my Filipino friends out there! 🙂

What do you think?

