The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Hi there fellow booknerds! Just so you know, this is not a book review. This post is all about my appreciation to Neil Gaiman’s book. This was my first time reading a Gaiman’s work and I absolutely loved it. What I love about this book is the unexpected turn of events and its ending. One word that best describes my feeling after reading this: SAD. Better read it and know what I am talking about. Oh, I also love Silas, Ms. Lupescu, Mr. & Mrs. Owens, all the graveyard folks and of course Bod the main character.

TheGraveyardBook_HardcoverPlease click here for Goodreads summary and review.

Here are my favorite quotes from the book:

  1. “It must be good,” said Silas, “to have somewhere that you belong. Somewhere that’s home.”
  2. “It’s like the people who believe they’ll be happy if they go and live somewhere else, but who learn it doesn’t work that way. Wherever you go, you take yourself with you.”
  3. “Things blossom in their time. They bud and bloom, blossom and fade. Everything in its time. Everything in its season.”
  4. “You’re alive, Bod. That means you have infinite potential. You can do anything, make anything, dream anything. If you change the world, the world will change. Potential. Once you’re dead, it’s gone. Over. You’ve made what you’ve made, dreamed your dream, written your name.”
  5. “You may be buried here, you may even walk. But that potential is finished.”
  6. “Fear is contagious. You can catch it. Sometimes all it takes is for someone to say that they’re scared for the fear to become real.”
  7. “the tongue is the most remarkable. For we use it both to taste our sweet wine and bitter poison, thus also do we utter words both sweet and sour with the same tongue. Go to her! Talk to her!”
  8. “If you dare nothing, then when the day is over, nothing is all you will have gained.”
  9. “People can change.”
  10. “Bod said, “I want to see life. I want to hold it in my hands. I want to leave a footprint on the sand of the desert island. I want to play football with people. I want,” he said, and then he paused and he thought. “I want everything.”
  11. “Face your life, its pain, its pleasure, leave no path untaken”
  12. There was a passport in his bag, money in his pocket. There was a smile dancing on his lips, although it was a wary smile, for the world is a bigger place than a little graveyard on a hill; and there would be dangers in it and mysteries, new friends to make, old friends to rediscover, mistakes to be made and many paths to be walked before he would, finally return to the graveyard or ride with the Lady on the broad back of her great stallion. But between now and then, there was life; and Bod walked into it with his eyes and his heart wide open.

I think that’s it. I am looking forward to reading more of Gaiman’s work. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

What do you think?

