Poor and Homeless

image

I used to wrestle with giving money to beggars. I always wondered for what they would use the money. But one day I realized that God would hold him accountable for how he used the help that he received. He would only hold me accountable for my willingness to help.

~ Alison Whitley

Jesus is poor and homeless. I am not saying this for me to feel happy with my life. What I am trying to point out is that: Jesus is powerful. He is the Son of God. But He chose to be poor and homeless. He chose the road of simplicity in sharing Himself to others. He chose to share God’s word in poor areas. He healed the leper, the blind. He talked to the poor. He never loathe them. So who are we to judge poor and homeless people? Or who are we to judge at all?

He is poor and homeless. My point is that, yes, God wants us to live our life with prosperity and abundance but we should never forget what Jesus did. If your gospel is revolving around prosperity and abundance financially, think again. Because come to think of it, he stooped down on poor people’s level, eat with them, dine with them, talk to them, hug them. So where is the abundance there? In the heart not in the pocket.

He is poor and homeless. You know what I realize about this? I realized that I need to be kinder to people. I want to feed the poor. I want to share to them the stories of redemption. I want them to see how God’s grace work.

I used to wrestle with giving money to beggars. I always wondered for what they would use the money. But one day I realized that God would hold him accountable for how he used the help that he received. He would only hold me accountable for my willingness to help.

~ Alison Whitley

And now, I can say, I am more than willing to help.

Photo credit to: http://erlc.com/article/does-jesus-want-you-to-be-poor

Posted from WordPress for Android

What do you think?

