The Wrong Kind of Good People

“We become weary when we do stuff we are not cut out for.

We become weary when we do things to please ourselves and others.”

Doing good

Most of my life, I tend to do extra miles for other people. I give more to people than to myself. Even at the end, my kindness is not reciprocated. I say yes to responsibilities I thought I can to please everyone. People take advantage of my goodness. My younger self would think to revenge but I still end up doing good even how much it irritated me. Those times, I asked God, “God, all my life I’ve been good to people, why is that I still feel lacking, incomplete, doubtful, worried and sad? I thought doing good to other people will make me happy.”

Almost four years ago, I read a verse in the Bible, “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up (Galatians 6:9).” It made me realize how wrong I am to think that the kindness I am showing to people will never be reciprocated. Remember: people may disappoint you but not our Father from above.

The wrong kind of good people is those people who depend on people in satisfying their unhappy lives. And I can honestly say, I was one of those people. But now, I learn to focus more on God, more on His power, more on His grace, more on His goodness, more on His love. Because when I started focusing on Him, being good and kind become as simple as 1, 2, 3.

Being good is not easy but yet simple because of God.

Being good is not a seasonal thing.

Being good is not satisfying yourself and others, it is more of the result of God’s love.

2 thoughts on “The Wrong Kind of Good People

What do you think?

