Lifesong

“I want to see miracles, see the world change
Wrestled the angel, for more than a name
For more than a feeling
For more than a cause
I’m singing Spirit take me up in arms with You
And You’re raising the dead in me”
~Twenty Four, Switchfoot

Have you ever thought of the theme song of your life? I know I am. I’ve been thinking about it lately. I also been thinking about my life verse (that’s another story). Well, I always think about things like those most especially whenever I am alone or when I am in my mind palace.

Most of the time I ask myself, what song speaks my life?

Switchfoot’s song, Twenty Four, comes to mind. Whenever I hear that song, I have goosebumps all over my body. Aside from the fact that I will be turning twenty four this year, that song illuminates my life, a reflection of my thoughts, hope, cravings.

All my life, I’ve been questioning things, I crave for answers to my questions. Why this and that happen? Why red is called red? Why a certain person’s reaction differ? Why people choose another from the other? Twenty Four speaks about real feelings, raw emotion, free thoughts and finally redemption.

My life had been a series of love-hate feeling. One day I was happy and the other day I was angry. This stemmed out to more and more doubts. I became angry of people who take advantage of my kindness to the point of thinking of revenge. I hate failing which ended up being dead even I am still alive. I had hard time loving people. I hate being an almost, almost there but not yet. But the truth, I want to show love and kindness to other people but I didn’t know how to start then. I didn’t know myself. I thought I am, but I was wrong again.

But finally redemption finds me. Yes, I still doubt myself. I still crave for answers, for truth, for wisdom and for love. I still want to see miracle. I want to see the world change. But the love of God magnifies peace in the midst of doubt which made my doubt smaller like a speck of dust. He raised the dead in me. I see purpose now. I like my journey now. I feel Him now. I see Him now in my heart.

 

One thought on “Lifesong

What do you think?

