Life-Changing Novels

“Endings are also beginnings.”

Reading is my way of relief. It is the way I can finally relate to the world. In reading, I can be my own; I can think what I want to think; I can feel what I want to feel.

High School when I first discovered my fondness of reading. It started when our school held a Book Fair. I can still remember my first books, it was The Baby Sitters Club by Ann Martin, Artemis Fowl by Eion Colfer and Freak the Mighty. These were the foundation of my reading life. Fastforward, in College, I was more in love with mature storylines, I read Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom (and all his works), House Rules, My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. These stories had change my view of life 180 degree.

I missed reading these kinds of stories. Sometimes, today, I felt like I was just reading books because of the urge to read books, a quota, the need to read 50 books in a year. It feels like a task more than an interest. Then I realized a thing, when was the last time I’ve read a life-changing novels?

Sadness filled my soul. The last time I have read books that were really inspiring was last February, the book series, Chronicles of Narnia. That was the very last time, I felt. That was the very last time I smiled after finishing the series. I smiled because of joy that someone had created a beautiful and deep novel.

I wished more authors will write like C.S. Lewis, Mitch Albom, Jodi Picoult, John Green and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle… they felt that’s why they write, they were inspired that’s why they write.

I hope I can find books that will again inspire me.


Ok, here’s the thing, I like to read Harry Potter, yet, I need to read all the books I bought. Curse you panic buying! 😛

Posted from WordPress for Android

What do you think?

