Why Am I Afraid to Write?

“There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”
Ernest Hemingway

Writing is a creative process wherein one can express self, one’s thoughts and ideals, express love and passion, and express life in a creative way.

Yet, it can open wounds that we thought were healed. It can bring out our suppressed feelings. It can impress insecurities that once we kept inside. In writing, we let others see our chaotic soul.

I am afraid to write. I am afraid that every word will cut scars. I am afraid that every stroke of pen will illuminate the brokenness I have inside. I am afraid that every piece of thoughts written on a paper will shout how weak I am.

I fear writing as much as I love it. I fear writing that’s why up to now I am still haunted by the voices I hear inside of my head. They want to get out. But I am too afraid to let them out. Because if I do, may be, they will pull my voice to my throat until I can no longer speak and the voices win over. Then, I will be left alone with my own chaotic soul.

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”
Maya Angelou, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

—-
Too serious? Curse it to my brain waves. 😛

Posted from WordPress for Android

4 thoughts on “Why Am I Afraid to Write?

  1. I think you just have to write through it. I read some advice once that said write even if you don’t know what to write. Even if that means you just end up writing ‘I don’t know what to write, I don’t know what to write,’ over and over again, eventually something will fall out that sparks off your drive. Emotions, like writers’ block don’t generally go away if you just ignore it, if may produce absolute rubbish to begin with but it’s still all practice which in the end makes us better writers.

    Like

  2. I really like that quote from Maya Angelou and I’m glad you’ve addes this as a summary plus to your post.
    Writing can be therapeutic. It helps us unleash the chaos within us in a creative way. By sharing our true stories, we are also impacting others, freeing them to share their own stories.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

