Wished and Regretted

Have you wished something and then regretted it in the end?

Fairly Odd Parents

I do.

One day, in the midst of the pain and circumstances I was going through, I prayed and whined to God, “God, why all these things shall happen? Why is my parents like that? Why do I need to be with this family?”

That day I wondered, why do I need to be here. What if I was born in a different family? Different environment? Different parents? Will my life be happier? Will my life be more satisfying?


Obey your parents. God commanded that. Honor your parents. God also commanded that.

For me, it isn’t hard to obey my parents… simply because they are my parents, they are the authority. But honor them? My father who is always angry without any good reason? My mother who is always complaining? How can I honor them?

Honor as defined is as high moral standards of behavior. My parents behavior…. Naaaahhh!!!

Yet, God commanded me to honor them in spite of what they are, who they are, and how they are. Also, I’ve realized this thing: My parents accepted me for who I am… A moody, snobbish, and a loner child. They respect me for who I am and what I am. They respect my decisions and everything in me. Why, me, their child has a hard time honoring them? I don’t have a slightest idea of what they’ve gone through to make my life better, what they’ve sacrificed for me. The least thing I can do is to honor them even they are whiners.

“Honor your father and mother”—which is the first commandment with a promise— “so that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth.” -Ephesians 6:2,3


 

What if I was born with different parents? The truth is, I can’t imagine myself with an all-smiling family. I can’t imagine myself with a less angry father or a less complaining mother. I think those bits of my life is what makes me follow God, what makes me want to know more of Him. From there, maybe I can be the light of my family.

Posted from WordPress for Android

What do you think?

