The First Time

Who doesn’t get excited for first times?

I know I do love first times, most especially, the first time I went to a field trip without a chaperone. It was so exciting, it was like freedom, I was free, I got to do whatever I like to do.

I also cherished the first time I meet and greet Mitch Albom. It was really heart-melting. I got too excited in meeting him that I forgot the script I have been rehearsing all day. The only thing my mouth uttered was “Hi Mitch, I’m Julienne!”

First times are really exciting, fascinating and heart warming. Yet it may also get us short-sighted of the essential things.

Last year, I read the book, “Saving My First Kiss” by Lisa Velthouse. Lisa is meaning to have her first kiss. She’s planning to have “A First kiss party”. She felt that she needs to be kissed since all of her friends have already been kissed. And in Western culture, having not been kissed in her age (20 yrs old) is considered weird or a L-O-S-E-R. She was desperate. But as the story progress, she felt that kissing is something she should wait for.

In these days, people are getting impatient of things because everything today is instant. Humans love shortcuts. When driving, people wants to take the easiest route because it is convenient. When texting, we use dis unridble msg. When reading, we look for the summary first. It is okay to take shortcuts if those are the cases. But what about in love? in marriage? in sex? NO! DON’T TAKE SHORTCUTS!!!

I know people who took the short way, they became impatient, they became moms in their teenage years only to end up being without the father of her kids. It is hard to accept that yet it is rampant.

I would like to believe that there are still out there who preserve their first times — the gift of purity/virginity — until marriage. When the world tell us to take the shortcuts and abuse the gift of sex God has given us — the Bible tell us to wise up (we are an intelligent people, we are the highest form of creature in this planet).

Or do you not know that wrongdoers will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor men who have sex with men[a] 10 nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God. 11 And that is what some of you were. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God. – 1 Corinthians 6:9-11

Save your first kiss for the person you’ll be marrying. Save your body for the person you’ll be with forever.  Because I will do save mine. I think, it will be the greatest gift I can give to my future husband.

–reflections on the 27th week devotional of Refuel

Here’s a song of John Waller about waiting:

What do you think?

