Are you what you think?

They say, we are what we eat. But for me, WE ARE WHAT WE THINK. The mere thought can dictate our actions, our principles, and our values.

image

What are you thinking the past days?

The past few days, some “big” thoughts are wondering my mind– the thoughts of being not good enough, thoughts of being too afraid of pursuing my dreams, thoughts of not believing in my decisions and thoughts of losing my values because of “the world’s most important thing.”

As the result of the negative thoughts running through my mind, I have become worried, stressed, anxious and sickly.

Frank Outlaw once said,

Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words, they become actions. Watch your actions, they become habits. Watch your habits, they become character. Watch your character, it becomes your destiny.”

Truly, my thoughts became my words. Have you noticed my past entries (not the devotional one)? Those are full of depressing thoughts which translated to depressing entry.

Then my words became my actions. I have observed that I am withdrawing myself to people since having negative thoughts. I became more sarcastic as ever. I meant what I sarcastically joked.

And I am afraid that my actions will become my habit if I will not find ways to get my thoughts right.

WE ARE WHAT WE THINK!

Others think about their family and their needs. Others think about their crushes. While others think of the deeper things.

Whatever we think, negative or positive thoughts, it reflects our life, our values, our priorities and our principles.

But we can control our thoughts. God has given us the power to clean our minds from the unhealthy thoughts, like, hopelessness, lustful thoughts, bad thoughts about other people, worries, thoughts about people who offended us in the past, and anything that prompts us to sin.

One good suggestion of Paul to fill our minds with is:

“Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable  — if anything is excellent or praiseworthy — think about such thing.” ~Philippians 4:8

This week I am claiming for positive thoughts! May the power of control be with us all.

To end this, what are the thoughts you have been entertaining on your mind this week?

-my reflection for the 18th week devotional of Refuel by Ru dela Torre

Posted from WordPress for Android

What do you think?

