Why I love The Chronicles of Narnia

After reading the whole series of The Chronicles of Narnia, I have decided to tell you how this “children’s books” really captivated my heart instead of reviewing it (because I am not a good reviewer…hehe).

Early this year, I just found myself delving into it word by word, page by page, book by book. And now, I’ve realized how beautiful these books are. And to think, I really am not a fan of this kinds of stories (you know, animal talking and stuff) but these really captivated my heart.

Favorite book:

My most favorite book in The Chronicles of Narnia is…

Well, this is hard, I love The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe but in the same unexplainable way, I also love The Silver Chair.

The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe

Why I love The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe because of the simplicity of its story and also because of Edmund. Well, if you have read it or watched it, you will know that Edmund is “The Traitor.” What I really love about it is the story behind it–Edmund being the traitor but find redemption through Aslan (The Lion). The best part would be, Aslan offering himself as a sacrifice for the sin of Edmund and Aslan being resurrected. Familiar, eh?

The Silver Chair

In the same way, I love The Silver Chair. A magic had drawn Prince Drilian into amnesia forgetting all his memories of the outside world. It had drwan him for ten years by the Queen of Underland, until, Jill, Eustace and Puddleglum came to the rescue. They also had experienced the amnesia little by little, as if, there is really no world outside the Underworld. The best part would be Puddleglum, saying to the Queen of Underland while fighting her magic: “I’m on Aslan’s side even there isn’t any Aslan to lead it. I’m going to live as like as Narnian as I can even if there isn’t any Narnia.” These statements really strucked me, it as if Puddleglum was trying it to slap in my face.

These two books have special place in my heart.

The Last Battle

I also love The Last Battle, it has so much revelation about heaven, good and bad, the whereabouts of the 8 friends of Narnia. It has so much wisdom in it. And of course, I love heaven stories.

Favorite Characters:

For the book The Lion, The Witch and The Lion: I love Edmund‘s role. Even though he was a traitor, Aslan still redeemed him and a total change in his character.

For the book Prince Caspian, of course, Prince Caspian, simply because his a Prince.

For the Voyage of the Dawn Treader, Eustace is my favorite and Reepicheep. Like in Edmund’s case, Eustace was renewed by his experiences in Narnia. And Reepicheep, is the bravest, he has courage as as big as a giant.

For The Silver Chair, I fell in love with Puddleglum‘s character since he has wisdom like no other.

For the Horse and His Boy, I think I like Shasta‘s character though this book is not my favorite.

For The Magician’s Nephew: Digory is my favorite, he is really stubborn yet knows how to tell the truth.

For The Last Battle: I love everything about it. I love the stories and characters behind the 7 friends of Narnia, namely, Peter, Edmund, Lucy, Eustace, Jill, Digory, and Polly. But I felt so sad to know that Susan never came back to Narnia.

But my most favorite character is Aslan. Simply because he is Aslan.

I think these books are one of a kind and I thanked C.S. Lewis in writing these. It is more than a children’s book, I tell you. The Chronicles of Narnia is a story of one of us, looking for freedom, wisdom and truth. This is a story of finding redemption in the midst of misadventures. This is a story of you and me.

One thought on “Why I love The Chronicles of Narnia

What do you think?

