You Rock!

I have suffered oppression when I was in first few years of my college life. That was the time when I felt that the world is against me. I felt oppression in every part of my life: relationship, financial, spiritual, emotional and physical.

That time, I just wanted to give up, withdraw myself to the world.

Then, until that day my Christian friends approached me and asked me to attend their youth service. I think God has His own way of saving me from oppression. That was the start of knowing God more deeply. And that was the start of knowing God as the Rock of my life.

Life was smooth sailing after knowing God.

But after graduation, the enemy tried to oppress my family once again. We were shaken. Our life totally turned around. But because I knew God more than before, the situation became easier. Also, it helped that I have Christian friends around me whom I could always count on. And it also helped that I read the book of Ru dela Torre entitled “Road Trip.”

Through these all, I turn to God. And he helped me.

I love you, Lord, my strength.

The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer;
    my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge,
    my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. (Psalms 18:1-2)

You Rock

You are strong whenever I crumble.

You are my grip whenever I want to give up.

Hang in there, You said.

I’ll help you through it all.

I was once broken and hurt,

I was once empty and lost,

But You said,

“It’s time to get up and let Me be your Rock.”

I hold on to that, Your promises and grace.

This is the sixth part of the weekly devotional of Refuel by Ru dela Torre.

What do you think?

