Struggles in Prayer

I struggle to pray…
Don’t react yet, I am not done with my sentence.
I struggle to pray PUBLICLY.
because…
I am no public speaker.
I am no good in delineating my thoughts orally.
I don’t talk much about my personal life to people I don’t trust and even to people I trust (which includes my family and friends).
I can’t express myself easily.
So I think that’s the problem, I am no talker, communicator and not so confident with speaking. And that is why it is hard for me to pray in public.
Once upon a time, but not so long ago, I attended a training and was tasked on the spot to pray. I obeyed, but my words seem to rumble and thoughts became blank (as if brain activities begin to stop) because I was really nervous. I felt I failed myself and mostly God (since as a Christian, it is expected that one should know how to pray, prepared or not, right?)
It should be easy, I said to myself. I think if I was tasked to dance or sing in public, it will be easier than praying publicly. This gets me so frustrated.
I struggled and is still struggling…
I remembered what my friend told me, that, praying to God should be like talking to your best friend… spontaneous and full of emotions.
Image“And when you pray do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words.” -Matthew 6:7 NIV

Please pray for me as I walk through my prayer life.

If you have the same struggle, please let me know, so I will know that I’m not the only one. Hehe πŸ™‚

-11.16.13

4 thoughts on “Struggles in Prayer

  1. I believe the reason it is hard to pray in public is because a person is not often doing it in private. Also, we are too focused on ourselves that instead of simply talking to God we think of what people would think o what they would prefer to hear. Do you know that praying for someone aims to bless? It’s not about how good you speak, it’s about your heart to intercede for someone and ask God in behalf of them. Do you really think you can further disappoint God? He loves you even before you are aware that you should pray.

    I think there is a misunderstanding of the word Christian here or Christianity itself. Christianity is not about a list of task that you should be DOING or is able to DO. It is about a relationship founded on what Jesus had DONE for you.

    The reason we pray publicly for people is for us to lead them to agree, to witness to the prayer so that when God answered, they will give glory to God not to chance.But even when your words get rumbled as you have said, God knows what you need even before you ask. So why overly think whether a person understood the prayer, was not able to get the point of your prayer? They will not answer the prayer, God will.

    Heart check. Do you pray to bless or to impress?

    (though this may seem harsh, I think I qualify to tell you this because I used to struggle with this as well but all should be done by God’s grace not your own strength)

    Like

What do you think?

